Tags

, , , , , , ,

People look at me like I am a weird Suzie homemaker.  When I even mention it I get a quizzical look.  For a while, I was with them.  I would just stop and grab some junk to eat on the way home.  Sure, fast food fills the hole but isn’t healthy.  My waist line sure showed it.  Of course many people own one but it seems that people rarely use them.  While I am away from home though I think they work terrific.  I used to buy one every time I went on assignment.  They just made things a bit easier, especially when you’re tired from a long day and don’t feel like cooking.  People automatically think of some sort of chili or stew, but with my trusty cookbook, there are all kinds of simple things that you can cook slowly.  Everything from fish to steak.  With the timer, I am greeted by luscious smells when I walk in the door.  You can even put in frozen stuff and it will be just fine.  That is, if I remember to turn the dumb thing on.  More than once I have come home ready to eat to be met with a cold kinda yucky looking soup.  Still, the crockpot works great.

In these days of fast food and “grab and go”, we forget that sometimes slow is the better way to go.  We get so used to instant gratification that we think that we must have what we want instantly.  We think that if we don’t get our needs meet instantly that it just won’t be any good. But instant gratification fades quickly and usually just adds to cravings for more junk.

But something’s just take time.  It may be old fashioned, but things such as friendship, faith and love are best cooked slowly.  At the end of the day, we will be nourished in a healthy way.  If you take just a little time to turn on, you can make good things that last.

If you like it – share it!

Enhanced by Zemanta