Tags

, , , , , , ,

When I was a kid, I lived in the land of “I wanta be.”  Emulating the hero’s of the day, I wanted to be a Veterinarian, an astronaut and a priest.  All lofty goals but alas none to be.  Not in the moment but lost in a world of illusions.
As I got older, I crossed into the land of “When I…”  When I get out of this stinking school, when I graduate, When I get a job etc.  A land of promise and dreams for sure.  Definitely not in the moment.
Than the car swerved and I ended up in the land of “Now that I…”  Married, kids, jobs.  a land of rewarding toil.  Wasn’t a bad place but it lacked inspiration.
Than the damn car ran off the road into “Woulda, coulda, shoulda..”  Gee if self-doubt rained I woulda been king of that land for sure.  Still occasionally go to visit but not sure I live there anymore.
I am convinced I have crossed into “What if land…”  What if this happens or that happens, what if I did this or that?  A land of uncertainty.
When will I get to “I am glad I am here world?”
Enhanced by Zemanta